Reviews

Renters Testimonials & Recommendations

Apartment reviews and ratings

The apartment was cool despite the hot temperature outside

Date of review: January 2018

Grettel was wonderful and the apartment was perfect. It was in a quiet space with a beautiful porch and view. So close to the bus station and downtown Quepos. It was a short bus ride into Manuel Antonio as well. The bed was comfortable and the temperature in the apartment was cool despite the hot temperature outside. Would highly recommend! Liz And Chris, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States.

The neighbourhood is lovely

Date of review: January 2018

We loved our stay at Grettels! It is a small apartment but suited us well, and the building backs on to the rainforest! It can get hot but there are fans which keep it very manageable. Grettel herself was so friendly, she checked in with us twice to make sure we were good, and answered any questions we had. The place can seem secluded if you arrive at night, but the neighbourhood is lovely. It made our stay in Quepos very memorable, thanks Grettel! Maya, Winnipeg, Canada.

The location is close to Manuel Antonio

Date of review: January 2018

This studio apartment has everything you need to make your stay in Costa Rica comfortable at an affordable price. The location is close to Manuel Antonio. We had a car but it would be a short bus ride. It may be too far to walk to the park. Julie, Columbus, Ohio, United States.

Make sure to catch the monkeys around 2pm

Date of review: November 2017

Perfect little space for people stopping in Quepos for a few night. It is very small, however there are large outdoor areas, including a rooftop terrace looking out right to the sea. Make sure to catch the monkeys around 2pm, they come right up to the balcony! Lucas, Forest Row, United Kingdom.

The roof has a beautiful view

Date of review: September 2017

Grettel is an AMAZING host. We booked a few month before our trip and was able to always ask her questions (not just about the airbnb but Costa Rica questions in general). She is super friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and if she didn’t know the specific answer, she would point us in the right direction. As for the actual place, it had everything we needed. The room did get a little hot as there isn’t any air conditioning but with two fans we didn’t suffer too much! The rooms are located literally less than 2 blocks from the bus that takes you to the national park for only 310 colones. The roof has a beautiful view. One night when it was too rainy to go outside, my boyfriend and I went upstairs to read our books in the hammock and chairs on the roof. It was incredible to be outside but safe from the rain! Overall I definitely would recommend Grettel’s place. She is an amazing host, and the place has everything you need. Thank you Grettel!! Jamie, San Francisco, California, United States.

Tthe apartment had everything we needed

Date of review: September 2017

An ideal location for exploring Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. Grettel is very friendly and helpful. the apartment had everything we needed for a relaxing break. Highly recommended. Julie, Oxford, United Kingdom.

The town of Quepos is just a short walk from the apartment

Date of review: June 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Grettel’s studio apartment. Even though the apartment is small, it has all the conveniences. The view from the porch is spectacular. It was more of a country atmosphere, with the neighbors rooster waking us up every morning. The town of Quepos is just a short walk from the apartment. Grettel is a gracious host and is always available to help when needed. The only problem we faced was with the cabbie at the bus terminal when we arrived in Quepos. The bus stop to Manuel Antonio Park is very close to the apartment, and the cost is only 310 colones. We recommend Grettel’s place if you are looking for a quiet and relaxing vacation. Meera, Suwanee, Georgia, United States.

Grettel is a really attentive and kind host

Date of review: June 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Grettels apartment. The location is great, you have great access to public transportation. The apartment is pretty small but still very comfortable for two people. Grettel is a really attentive and kind host, she answered all our requests immediately and even provided us with fresh towels and bedding after a few days. I would recommend staying at Grettels apartment! Kira, Horstedt, Germany.

Would recommend to anybody

Date of review: May 2017

Amazing little studio. 2 minute walk from the bus stop, 5 minutes from downtown. Lots of little groceries close by. Basic kitchen but was not lacking for cooking food in. Very clean and comfortable. Never got too hot during our stay. Grettel is an amazing host that was great at meeting and exceeding our (constantly changing) needs. Would recommend to anybody looking for a nice stay in quepos. Jeff, Palmdale, California, United States.

Cozy and comfortable

Date of review: May 2017

Loved it. Cozy and comfortable. Balcony has beautiful view.. And definitely got to see monkeys up close and personal! Rachel, Lawrence, Kansas, United States.

Fue perfecto

Date of review: April 2017

Fue perfecto. Cheyenne

Right on the edge of the jungle

Date of review: April 2017

Great stay in quepos! I didn’t see any other place with such a view. Right on the edge of the jungle, so no noise from th streets. We saw monkeys and iguanas right on our balcony. The host was very nice and also did our laundry for us. I would recommend staying here if you go to quepos. Tessa, Netherlands

Bus stop to Manuel Antonio is very close

Date of review: March 2017

The apartment is really nice. It’s very clean and has a great view. You reach the town in a few minutes and a bus stop to Manuel Antonio is very close. Grettel is very friendly and helpful. It was a great stay. Manuel, Osnabrück, Germany.

Outside on the balcony where we saw Iguanas, Squirrel Monkeys and White Faced Monkeys!

Date of review: March 2017

Grettels place was really easy to get to from the centre of Quepos where we arrived on the bus. It is walkable to all good resturants and the bus stop to the national park/beach is a two min walk away! Grettel was a very nice and welcoming host. The room was very clean and comfortable and contained everything needed for a short stay. It was really nice to sit outside on the balcony where we saw Iguanas, Squirrel Monkeys and White Faced Monkeys! Thanks again! Carly, Groby, United Kingdom.

Grettel seems to have bigger units available which I would recommend booking if available

Date of review: March 2017

Grettel was a great host. She was available whenever needed. The unit is located on the outskirts of Quepos – takes about 15 min to walk to the town centre. The unit was clean and well stocked. It was a little small for the two of us. Would be great for one person or if you don’t plan to be in the unit often. The unit did not have A/C which wasn’t an issue – there are two fans available which cooled down the unit nicely. There is a nice balcony area that overlooks the city and where monkeys like to play. In order to get to the unit there is a significant amount of stairs you must climb, It was difficult with two large suitcases. The street leading up to the unit is also very dark at night, we had to use our phone as a flashlight. Grettel seems to have bigger units available which I would recommend booking if available. The unit is very close to the bus stop that goes to Manuel Antonio. Grettel is very helpful and informative with booking tours. Our stay was short so we did not get a chance to do any. Kelly, Toronto, Canada.

Just what we were looking for

Date of review: February 2017

Beautiful little space overlooking the ocean within walking distance of town yet quite & secluded. Perfect set up with everything you really need for a short term stay! Kira, Mazunte, Mexico.

The location was great for my wife and I

Date of review: February 2017

Grettel and her family were very welcoming. They live on-site and Grettel was very responsive by text/email in case we needed anything. There is no A/Center in the unit we rented, but it cooled off very nicely in the evening and we were comfortable. The fridge was nice to have to keep a rotation of water bottles cold. The location was great for my wife and I. We prefer to be slightly removed from the middle of things but still close. The apartment was about a two minute drive into Quepos or a nine minutes drive to the beach or Manuel Antonio national park. The building is at the edge of town and we saw some monkeys and lizards in the forest right behind the building. Overall very quiet. It was great. Would stay here again. Avery, Minnesota, United States.

Grettel also helped me booked a white water rafting tour

Date of review: January 2017

My stay at Grettel’s was perfect. I arrived a couple hours earlier than what the check-in time was and she was very accommodating in that regard which was awesome. The apartment is in a perfect location if you don’t have your own transportation. The bus stop to go to the beaches and national park was about a 2 minute walk. Grettel also helped me booked a white water rafting tour (which is an awesome experience if interested. I went with H20 which is right next to the bus stop). I was traveling by myself and the apartment itself was really nice. Simple and basic and extremely clean. I stayed in the studio apartment and it had all the necessary things. The roof terrace has an amazing view of Quepos and the ocean. Overall I had an awesome time and would highly recommend staying at Grettel’s place. Juan.

Kitchenette was equipped with everything we needed to cook meals

Date of review: January 2017

I cannot say enough good things about Grettel’s place. First of all, the apartment is in a perfect location for someone traveling without a car. It is about a 10 minute walk from the main bus station in Quepos (where you can get the public bus to and from from San Jose), and less than a 5 minute walk to the stop where you can get the bus to the beautiful beaches of Manuel Antonio and the national park. The only place we wanted to go that was not accessible by public transport was the Rainmaker Rainforest preserve (also highly recommend if you are in the area!), and Grettel hooked us up with her taxi-driver friend for that! The apartment itself was lovely. Simple and basic and extremely clean. We stayed in the studio apartment and the kitchenette was equipped with everything we needed to cook meals. We spent a lot of time on the roof terrace, which has an amazing view of Quepos and the ocean. The coolest part was that we saw monkeys almost every evening, and several times they even came up on the deck and sat on the chairs next to us! Overall we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend staying at Grettel’s place. Megan.

When we arrive the place was super clean and very inviting

Date of review: January 2017

Gretel’s place is amazing for a couple. We saw lots of monkeys every day at the rooftop terrace. Great little space has everything you need plus the kitchen is equipped with all the essentials. The location is perfect, one minute walk from the main road which the bus comes every 10 to 15 minutes. There is also a little grocery stores right up the street where you can buy all your local food. If you’re looking for a place to stay just to check out manual Antonio park this is perfect seeing as you get to stay right in the jungle but you’re still only a minute walk from the bus which takes 10 minutes to get to the park entrance. Gretel is a very nice lady who lives underneath the apartments so it was very easy to text her through the Airbnb app whenever we needed something and she would be right up to help us. If you do plan on cooking meals make sure you clean up well afterwards, seeing as you’re in Costa Rica the ants will come from anywhere to find that piece of rice you dropped on the ground. When we arrive the place was super clean and very inviting, Gretel had snacks and free coffee for us on arrival overall was a great experience. Me and my girlfriend stayed four nights and at first we thought it might be too much time in that area but it worked out perfectly between going to the park for a day, the local beach just outside the park which is also very beautiful, and I highly recommend the sunset sail snorkel tour.Michael.

There is only a 5 min drive to Manuel Antonio national park

Date of review: January 2017

Our stay at Grettel´s place was even better than expected. We wanted to have privacy and a place away from the worst hotel areas in Manuel Antonio and this was perfect. The apartment is located at the end of a street and the back is surrounded with vegetation. It felt very private even though other groups of people rented apartments next door(shared terrass) and 1 floor above. The location is perfect if you have a car. There is only a 5 min drive to Manuel Antonio national park and the main beach. There are also many places to visit 30 min-1 h hour drive away-for example Nauyaca Waterfalls. We had an amazing time in Quepos and the surroundings! Ida, Eskilstuna, Sweden.

Plage à 6km.

Date of review: January 2017

Bonne adresse pour trois ou quatre jours, Grettel est charmante, de l’eau fraîche à l’arrivée est bienvenue, le bâtiment est dans la verdure. Plage à 6km. Studio un peu petit, les prix en général au Costa Rica sont trop surévalués. Daniel.

Overall Grettel’s place was great

Date of review: December 2016

Grettel’s place was convenient and relaxing. The apartment is located at the near Quepos at the the bottom of the hill. It’s about a 5-10 minute walk to the town of Quepos and there is a bus stop that is very close to the apartment that will take you to Manuel Antonio. The bus stops running around 10pm so you will have to take a taxi back to the apartment if you plan on having a late night. Also, the apartment is down a narrow dirt street behind houses so many tours will pick you up/drop you off at the Gym that is at the front of the community. The apartment was spacious and has all of the essentials. There isn’t air conditioning but there are two fans and it kept the room pretty cool. There is a hammock on the roof that is very relaxing and has a nice view of the town. We were also able to see monkeys and lizards throughout our stay. Overall Grettel’s place was great. She was very helpful and can help you book tours and others actives. We enjoyed our time while staying at her place. Jasmine, United States.

Recommend

Date of review: October 2016

Grettel’s place was really nice. It backs on to the jungle so you felt very much in nature whilst still being in a super convenient location for Quepos and Manuel Antonio. It was really clean and had hot water, which was a nice surprise. There was a small kitchenette that had everything we needed and free coffee! Recommend. Calli.

You can even go up to the third floor and see monkeys jumping through the trees

Date of review: August 2016

Grettel was an amazing host. I spent this past week in Quepos, and it was my first time flying out of the country. She was so understanding when I arrived later in the night, due to delayed flights and me having to make a 3-hour drive from San Jose. Her place has everything you need to have a great time — clean bathroom and shower with hot water, kitchenette, comfy bed with light sheets (perfect because the weather was very hot!) and even a TV. You can even go up to the third floor and see monkeys jumping through the trees while relaxing in one of the two hammocks up there. It was also really nice that her home is located right below the apartments, so she was able to provide me an extra towel and check in with me to see if I was doing okay. She is the sweetest. I already want to come back, and when I do, Brunxu will be my first choice! Thanks, Grettel. Molly.

Everything is in walking distance

Date of review: June 2016

Grettel’s place is amazing. The house backs into the jungle and from the upper floors one has a beautiful view over Quepos and the ocean. Everything is in walking distance. Grettel was very friendly and the place was well equipped and very clean. Highly recommended for a stay in Quepos, or the Manuel Antonio area. Boris.

The apartment is quiet and it has everything you need

Date of review: May 2016

Great option if you want to stay in Quepos and be close to Manuel Antonio. The bus runs every 15 mins to Manuel Antonio beach and the stop is 150m from the house. The apartment is quiet and it has everything you need. It is Grettel was attentive and helped us with everything we needed. Definitely recommend her. Ramses.

I’d definitely recommend this place!

Date of review: May 2016

Grettel was great, and the apartment was everything I needed! Great view of the town of Quepos off of the balcony, and animals were around quite frequently. Such a short bus ride to the beaches and park in Manuel Antonio. I’d definitely recommend this place! Luke.

Bref, brunxu est un incontournable si vous allez à Quepos

Date of review: May 2016

Brunxu est un petit hâvre de paix! Nous avons adoré l’endroit, le balcon et la terrasse sur le toit donnent l’impression d’être isolé du monde! L’appartement comprend salle de bain, kitchenette, ventilateurs, wifi et télévision. Nous n’avons vu Gretell qu’à deux reprises lors de notre séjour (4nuits) et elle était chaleureuse et répondait à nos questions sur l’endroit! L’appartement est à 25/30min de bus du fameux parc Manuel Antonio. Vous trouverez de nombreux restaurants et épiceries à Quepos, et une atmosphère authentique. Bref, brunxu est un incontournable si vous allez à Quepos. J’y retournerais sans hésiter! Marie.

The water is completely fine to drink and we drank it constantly

Date of review: March 2016

The listing is just as described. The apartment backs onto the jungle, so it feels very private and safe. The shower was (surprisingly) warm if desired, but we generally took cold ones because of the heat in Quepos. Walking distance to lots of little Typical restuarants. Our favourite restaurant was called Tico Restaurant & Bar (I think) and it had fantastic food. There is a local beach, but you either need to walk out to it at low-tide, or take a little water taxi across and walk through the local village. The locals were all very helpful and accommodating, and we hardly saw many tourists at all. The water is completely fine to drink and we drank it constantly. It was VERY hot in Quepos, and as mentioned in the ad, there is no AC. This is normal in the area, and there is a fan in the room. We’re from Canada so it took a few days of adjusting to the temperature difference. The best part was the monkeys. We hadn’t seen any for the first couple days, but suddenly a HUGE group of capuchins and squirrel monkeys passed through one morning. They played on the rooftop patio and jumped in the trees. Fantastic experience! Would definitely recommend this to someone that wants an up-close experience with wildlife. Lynda.

The kitchenette was well stocked and everything was very clean and also modern

Date of review: March 2016

This is a really nice little studio apartment on the edge of Quepos making it nice and quiet and surrounded by vegetation and animals. Grettel was a perfect host and provided everything we needed. The apartment is essentially one room with a comfy bed and a little kitchenette with adjoining private bathroom as well as the balcony. For the two of us it was just what we needed and good value. The kitchenette was well stocked and everything was very clean and also modern. We saw loads of wildlife from our balcony as well as the sun setting over the town. It is also very convenient for picking up the bus just at the end of the road to head into Manual Antonio (310 colones). We would definitely recommend this place and Grettel as your host. She also has two other apartments in the same block which are bigger and looked very nice. Nicola.

The room was very good and everything was clean

Date of review: March 2016

Grettel was a very good host. She was always supportive and very friendly. She also helped us to book a wonderful kayak tour through the mangroves. The room was very good and everything was clean. On the terrace at breakfast we were welcomed by little titi monkeys. We saw a lot of animals from Grettels place, e g. tucans and iguanas. It was a wonderful experience. This place is very close to Manuel Antonio National Park (by car or bus). We enjoyed our stay and we would come back again. Marcel.

Le studio est pratique et dispose de tout le nécessaire pour passer un bon séjour

Date of review: March 2016

Nous avons adoré découvrir la faune alentour (iguanes, singes écureuils…); qui sont comme chez eux… Nous avons apprécié la proximité avec le village de Quepos qui dispose de toutes les facilités: supermarchés, pharmacie, restaurants, glaciers, distributeurs d’argent, jeux pour enfants… Où nous nous sommes rendus à pied tous les jours ainsi que la belle plage de galets et ses jeux pour enfant… Le studio est pratique et dispose de tout le nécessaire pour passer un bon séjour. La proximité avec l’arrêt de bus en direction de Manuel Antonio à été bien pratique pour rejoindre le parc et plages de sable. Bon rapport qualité-prix. Nous avons beaucoup apprécié la gentillesse de l’hôte et sa discrétion. Merci Gretel, nous reviendrons avec plaisir à l’occasion. Fred Et Sabine

All of the previous reviews are very accurate

Date of review: May 2015

From the moment I walked up the drive and saw the property, I knew I had made the right decision to come here to Brun’xu. Grettel met me outside and immediatel took me up to the apartment. It was perfect! On the very first afternoon I watched a troop of squirrel monkeys from my bedroom window. Monkeys, toucans, and many other species of birds visited often during my stay. All of the previous reviews are very accurate. Grettel and Carlos are very kind and helpful. They live on the property, and will help you out in any way they can if you need anything. The house is the last on a cul-de-sac off the main road, so there is no traffic and it is very quiet. You are within easy walking distance of Quepos, and you can catch the very inexpensive bus (315 colones/about 65 US cents at this writing) running between Quepos (groceries, restaurants, bank, etc.) and Manuel Antonio (beaches, bars, restaurants, and national park) every 30 minutes. I stayed a month. I loved it, and I was very sad when I had to leave! I would definitily stay here again. Timothy.

Grettel was a fantastic host

Date of review: February 2015

My recent experience staying at Grettel’s place was fantastic. The apartment is in a building backing a hill, with gorgeous trees and frequent monkey visits. The terrace at the top of the building has a great 360 view of the forrest on one side, and the coast on the other. Grettel was a fantastic host, constantly checking on the details and proactive about communications. I look forward to coming back soon! Alfonso.

Grettel was great and the place was good mixture of reasonable price and location

Date of review: February 2015

I liked my stay at Grettel’s place. I enjoyed the peace the location had, it was as close to the forest as it could be (count with higher humidity in the room). I can’t say I missed anything as I was staying mostly over the night. The communication with Grettel was great and the place was good mixture of reasonable price and location. Thank you!  Petr.

3rd floor provides a relax area and nice view.

Date of review: January 2015

It was a great stay at Brunxu apartment. Clean, with new appliances and even with a washing machine available outside. The patio on the 3rd floor provides a relax area and nice view. Franco Franchi, USA

I felt safe all the time.

Date of review: November 2014

I spent five nights at the apartment and I had a great time there. The apartment was very clean and some fruits were waiting for me. The equipment is standard but sufficient. I enjoyed the view from both, the roof terrace and the balcony, where I could not only see the sea but also the monkeys coming by! Grettel is the best host you can wish for. She always responded quickly prior to my arrival and she was OK with me bringing a friend for the first night even though I booked it only for myself. When I stayed there she was always very friendly and helpful. Furthermore, I can only agree with one of the earlier comments as a woman travelling alone I felt safe all the time which is important for me. The city centre is only a 10 minutes walking distance and the bus stop is only 5 minutes to walk to, where the bus going to the beach and national park Manuel Antonio runs frequently. All in all, I can absolutely recommend you going there! Inken Hass from Baden-Württemberg, Germany.

We had the pleasure of regularly seeing toucans.

Date of review: December 4, 2014

Hi Grettel, Thanks for the amazing stay at Brunxu! What an ideal location. The unique building (Casa Blanca), in the quiet neighborhood, is sheltered by old-growth trees that serve as a home to Costa Rica’s unique wildlife. We are a married couple who stayed in the efficiency apartment for several weeks. From our balcony we had the pleasure of regularly seeing toucans, an array of songbirds and everyone else in the little homey building saw scarlet macaws several times. Troops of monkeys routinely passed through, both capuchin and titi, and provided unrivaled “monkey watching” as they moved through the trees around the house and even on the roof. We saw a massive iguana on the porch and even spotted a tapir down in the forest below the house.

The footprint of the apartment is cozy but efficiently set up. We cooked often, watched football on the television and HBO. There were several stores and restaurants nearby in town. The bus stop is close for a ten minute ride to the beach. The apartment was immaculately clean. Grettel lives on site, is very attentive, and a good person. The house feels very secure. There are a couple of apartments in the building and everyone is friendly, but there is privacy, too. The rooftop terrace is a great place to relax, open air in the tree tops. It is a bit of a gem being positioned right on the edge of Quepos. We definitely recommend it and would go back. Best, Emily Jo and Josh, USA.

Clean, safe, cosy, … Ideal.

Date of review: May 22, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at brunxu during the months of February and March 2014. Being a single traveler I opted for their studio apartment.

For me this was almost perfect. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom/shower roomy, clean and perfectly functional.

The location is ideal as it is nestled in between Manuel Antonio and Quepos. With Quepos (and all shops, restaurants, etc) a 1 min walk and Manuel Antonio a 5 min bus ride.

The house is also wedged on the mountainside providing a beautiful view from the roomy balcony and also the occasional furry visitor (monkey)

Both Carlos and Grettel are lovely people and landlords.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this place. Nik, Sydney, Australia.

Wonderful place to stay.

Date of review: May 15, 2014

I have lived at Brunxu for almost a year now and it has been a great experience. Grettel and Carlos are such wonderful people and so accommodating, always wanting to make sure that everything is okay in the apartment. Their children are so sweet and well behaved – you wouldn’t even know there are children living on the property!

The apartment has everything I need to live comfortably. And the surrounding environment is total perfection. Almost every day, I see amazing wildlife passing through the trees. There’s also a beautiful view of the ocean and picture perfect sunsets that can be seen either from my patio or the rooftop terrace.

The location is ideal, set away from the main road so you only hear the natural world but so close to town. It’s super easy to walk to the local markets, marina and restaurants. It’s also easy to catch a taxi or bus if you want to go to the beach. Christine, California.

I personally guarantee that your stay there will be ideal and memorable.

Date of review: November 5, 2013

I would like to give my highest recommendation for a long-term apartment in the beautiful beach area of Quepos, Costa Rica, to the Brunxu Apartments. I spent six wonderful months there just a bit up the hill toward the magnificent Manuel Antonio section of beaches, restaurants, and activities. The owners, Grettel and Carlos, are highly educated, friendly people, who provide a clean and furnished apartment in their four apartment complex located right on the edge of the rain forest. They live in the apartments and that makes it a very safe place to stay and leave your valuables to spend a day at the beach, zip lining, or riding a catamaran sail boat. At the same time my privacy was respected and any issue was immediately fixed.

Quepos is a great small town to explore restaurants, shops, and the beautiful beach. It has a medical clinic, grocery stores, and a great feel for what a Costa Rican fishing village is like. Quepos is the ideal spot in Costa Rica for fishermen. I could walk to Quepos in less than five minutes from my apartment. I spent many hours on the porch of the apartment with a picturesque view of the ocean and received almost daily visits from the monkeys. At night I was serenaded by the enchanting sounds of the rainforest. I felt like I was camping out because the apartments are off the main road in a serene and secure area.

I and my wife now own a home in the Central Midlands, but we plan to visit Quepos often to enjoy all the things it has to offer. I will always make a point to stop by and see Grettel and Carlos. I personally guarantee that your stay there will be ideal and memorable. Dave Unland from USA.

Wonderful stay and we are pleased to give you a review.

Date of review: August 16, 2013

Our stay with Grettel and Carlos was nothing short of wonderful. They were extremely accommodating and offered a perfectly relaxing, quiet and peaceful place to stay. We were fortunate enough to see the monkeys twice in our week there. The apartment is located on the edge of town and is less than a five minute walk to anywhere in town which made for quiet and tranquil evenings. Exactly what we were looking for. Thank you so much for a great week and we would gladly stay at Brunxu apartments again. Rob and Emma from Canada.

I loved your place.

Date of review: April 24, 2013

Thanks Grettel. I loved your place: it could not have worked out better. It was the first time that I stayed in Quepos as opposed to in Manuel Antonio. You place was just as convenient and much more reasonable. And very quiet. And good neighbours. John F.

One of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

Date of review: February 12, 2013

I just recently finished my vacation in Quepos, Costa Rica. I have to say that it was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I had a wonderful apartment with an incredible view, and Grettel was a terrific landlord. Five Stars are not enough to describe this wonderful apartment. I would recommend staying with them any time! Marcus German, Scuba Kansas, LLC – Wichita, KS.

I was really living in the jungle.

Date of review: February 8, 2013

I stayed in one of the Brunxu apartments for seven months and I think that I would have struggled to find anything better in the Quepos area. With the Coro family living on site I felt totally safe and at home, which was important for me as I was living alone. The apartments are situated within walking distance of town and just a short bus ride away from Manuel Antonio. I felt like I was really living in the jungle, being surrounded by Costa Rica’s beautiful wildlife, yet also that I was in a well maintained, clean building. I would definitely recommend Brunxu to anybody looking to stay in this area, it was an excellent find! – Joules Mason, United Kindom.

Titi and white face monkeys would visit our patio almost daily.

Date of review: March 28, 2012

My wife Rebecca and I have been traveling to Costa Rica for the past twelve years. We stayed at the Best Resorts to the Best Western type hotels, until a friend told me about his find. A small family owned unit of four apartments on the edge of the Rain Forest. High enough on the side of the hill to have an Ocean View. Ti-ti and white face monkeys would visit our patio almost daily. We found that for the same amount spent on Hotels we could live in our own little paradise with a yearly lease. We always felt safe because the owners lived in the same building. Please feel free to contact us at U.S.A. 001 717 581 0630 or email us at Siamese at blueeyedsix.com for a personal recommendation.

Grettel and Carlos were perfect hosts available- but not intrusive.

Date of review: August 18, 2011

The Brunxu apartments snuggle the edge of the jungle, where there are frequent visits from monkeys. I found myself surrounded by fascinating exotic flora, birds and the frog & cricket choruses after the rain – but – it is just a short walk to the gym, bakeries, mini-super markets. Dos Pinos Ice Cream, Pizza, the soccer field, the church, three banks, loads of restaurants and good places to drink coffee. The stop for the frequent buses to Playa Manuel Antonio is just 200 meters away.

Secluded but convenient to everything. The apartment itself is bright, sunny, nicely furnished including a complete kitchen and an open floor plan. It was really easy to keep clean. The free access to WiFi was a great plus – made it easy to make daily Skype phone calls to my 91-year-old Dad in the USA.

Grettel and Carlos were perfect hosts – available- but not intrusive – AND – there is a great view of the bay from the balcony – a great place to have breakfast or an afternoon coffee – or- to peacefully watch the spectacular sunsets. I highly recommend a month or more here – Richard from NY, NY, USA.

The studio apartment was clean, modern, furnished with all necessities for daily living.

Date of review: August 02, 2011

Brunxu apartment was the perfect match for my husband & me to stay while in Quepos, Costa Rica. We lucked out when we found it online. Grettel & Carlos made it easy to reserve with a deposit via Western Union. We were nervous about this at first, but soon arrived to find they are a wonderful and trustworthy family. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and experience the culture of Costa Rica during our 3 month stay.

The building is the last house on the street located just outside of main town before the big hill to Manuel Antonio park/beach. It is approximately a 10 minute walk to town and a 5 minute walk to the closest bus stop to the beach. There is a staircase up a hill to reach the building and another up if you are on the second floor.

The studio apartment was clean, modern, furnished with all necessities for daily living. The balcony included a table and chairs with a view of the town, jungle, ocean, and neighbor yards/gardens. The balcony & roof was ideal for spotting loads of animals including a variety of birds (hummingbirds, tanagers, motmot, vulture, parrots & more!), monkeys (capuchin white face & titi), sloth, and squirrels. The roof is flat with rails which are perfect for drying laundry & wet beach towels. There is a wash machine available for use, which was SOOOO handy! They let us use the grill when we wanted. Although the apartment did not have air conditioning, we were accustomed to the weather and the frequent breeze kept the air moving. There is a ceiling fan inside to help as well.

As you would expect, there are bugs in Costa Rica. We experienced ants & spiders in the apartment. They were not a problem as long as we made sure the screens stayed closed & all food was sealed & cleaned up. The ceiling leaked once after we had a few days of bad storms. Carlos and friends were fast to examine the roof and ceiling to fix the problem, which we did not have again.

We loved every moment of our stay at Brunxu Apartments and will never forget the warm hospitality received. Many fond memories and photos will help us to remember these good times. If you plan to visit Quepos and would like the privacy of your own apartment, the warmth and safety of staying with family, and the beautiful nature of the Pacific coast of Costa Rica; then we would highly recommend you stay here. Sincerely, Michal & Stephanie.

We can recommend these apartments to anyone

Date of review: May 16, 2011

We have very much enjoyed the stay with you during our one week stay in Quepos while we were attending a Spanish class at El Paraiso language school! The 2 BR apartment gave us ample space and made our stay very comfortable. Gipsy always “checked us out” on our improvement of our Spanish knowledge 😉 Unfortunately the cute dog disappeared during a heavy thunderstorm and did not return while we were there. We hope he will return eventually. The location of Brunxu apartment close to the city of Quepos but yet almost within the rain forest is an absolute asset of this place. We can recommend these affordable apartments to anyone who is spending his time in Quepos. Hope to have the opportunity to stay with you again! Lots of greetings from Ilse & Bernhard (from Austria).

Cheap apartments to rent

Date of review: Apr 26, 2011

Dear Grettel, Carlos, Gipsy and Dogy 🙂 We enjoyed to stay in your lovely apartment with nice bathroom and a good kitchen, we enjoyed also the great and beautiful nature all around your house! We see so many interesting animals like monkeys, birds, bats etc… We we’re also happy to have a nice neighborhood like Steve he was a good help and give us a lot of information useable about Quepos and Costa Rica! After 1 beautiful week with you we go to the caribbean side of Costa Rica. We will missing you! Caroline, Cosimo and Giulia (Switzerland).

Rooftop deck provides great views the jungle, stars, sunset, downtown Quepos, and the Pacific ocean.

Date of review: Mar 22, 2011

I really enjoyed my 2 month stay at Brunxu Apartments and will gladly stay there again next time I visit Quepos! Carlos, Grettel, and little Gypsy are super friendly neighbors and extremely capable and helpful landlords. Upon my arrival, Carlos assisted me with my luggage I was greeted by 20-30 white face monkeys (the monkeys returned several times a week)! The apartment/building is clean and well maintained and the rooftop deck provides great views the jungle, stars, sunset, downtown Quepos, and the Pacific ocean. Grettel was a great resource for information about Quepos/Manuel Antonio and always willing to help. Brunxu is located on the eastern outskirts of Quepos on the way to Manuel Antonio and backs to the jungle providing a sense of privacy and security. Located a few hundred meters from the bus stop to Manuel Antonio and 6 blocks from the Quepos Marina, I found the location to be ideal. The inside of the apartment was immaculate and attractive. I really enjoyed the tile work and high-end showerhead in the large bathroom. I had absolutely no complaints during my 2-month stay. I am a big fan of Brunxu Apartments and would highly recommend considering Brunxu for your housing needs when you visit Quepos. Thank you Carlos, Grettel, and Gypsy!!!!! COLLIN (USA).

We enjoyed the apartment very much and highly recommend it for a tranquil and safe place in Quepos.

Date of review: Mar 21, 2011

Our quiet 2 bedroom, bath, kitchen and small living /dining room at the Brunxu Apartments was just right for our 3 week stay in Quepos, with plenty of privacy. One of the best holiday places we’ve stayed. The location was ideal and the view from our balcony looked out to town and the beach front just a few blocks away. The bus stop to Manuel Antonio is within a short walking distance and just 15-20 minutes bus ride to the National Park and the beautiful beaches. The cappuchin and mono titi monkeys visited us in the mornings and afternoons as well as beautiful birds all day. We enjoyed our friendship with the lovely owners, Gretel, Carlos and their adorable 6 year-old daughter Gypsy who are managing their first small complex with great pride and care and reside on location. The place was very clean with all the furnishings like home; even a clothes washer for the tenants and WIFI. Though it wasn’t air-conditioned we found the ceiling fans in all the rooms were all we needed to live comfortably. We enjoyed this affordable apartment very much and highly recommend it for a tranquil and safe place in Quepos. Gracias por todo. YOLANDA Y TONY, (Austin, Texas, USA).

I want to thank you for a great stay at Brunxu.

Date of review: Mar 5, 2011

It was exactly what I had hoped for and expected. My month there was the best vacation I have had in years. I really hope to come back next time for at least two months or longer. I send my best to you, your husband, daughter, Steve and Doki! WAYNE.

“Apartment on edge of rainforest – view of ocean”

Date of review: Feb 8, 2011

Arrived November 1st in a torrent of rain and was greeted by Gretel with her big smile and other tenant who helped us carry our luggage to our apartment. Spending 88 days gave us the opportunity to feel the life at Brunxu. We rented the lower 2 bdrm. apartment, hung our hammock on the balcony to enjoy the breeze and view. We had WIFI and Cable T.V. Nestled into the surrounding mountain, the buildings rooftop gave opportunity to birdwatch, sunbath, and hang laundry and offers a wonderful view overlooking the town to the sea. Mono blanco’s, Titi’s and Howlers provided us with weekly entertainment. This young growing Tico family is charming and very helpful. Their daughter, Gipsy (6) always ready to engage in a game with you. We enjoyed the community of Quepos and look forward to returning. JEAN AND DAVID.

“Walk to town; back yard is rain forest, front balcony views Pacific. Ocean sounds put me to sleep at night.”

Date of review: Jan 23, 2011

This two year old, well constructed apartment building is in a great location (next to Manuel Antonio Estates) – safe neighborhood, ocean view, surf sounds at night, monkeys and birds abound – great roof deck for cook outs, cocktails and sunbathing. It is owned and operated by a young Costa Rican (Tico) couple, Carlos and Grettel and their 6 year old daughter Gipsy. I have been their tenant for 8 months over 2 years and, if possible, intend to retire here in a few years. The 2 holiday ‘studio’ apartments or cabinas are perfect for a single traveler. The 2 bedroom units with room for 4 are a little fancier with living room furniture, microwaves, electric stoves and larger kitchen spaces. All have cabled televisions, ceiling fans, internet wi-fi and washing machine access. I am from Cape Cod and Boston. A/C is not needed in this location – the gentle ocean breezes keep life comfortable. Brunxu.com for more info & photos – Buena suerte, STEVE (Esteban).

The owners of the apartments Brunxu would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to all our guests and friends for the positive reviews. God bless them all!

Last minute offers holiday Rentals

Pay less by renting directly from property owners!