Reviews

Renters Testimonials & Recommendations

Apartment reviews and ratings

3rd floor provides a relax area and nice view.

Date of review: January 2, 2015

It was a great stay at Brunxu apartment. Clean, with new appliances and even with a washing machine available outside. The patio on the 3rd floor provides a relax area and nice view. Franco Franchi, USA

I felt safe all the time.

Date of review: November 2014

I spent five nights at the apartment and I had a great time there. The apartment was very clean and some fruits were waiting for me. The equipment is standard but sufficient. I enjoyed the view from both, the roof terrace and the balcony, where I could not only see the sea but also the monkeys coming by! Grettel is the best host you can wish for. She always responded quickly prior to my arrival and she was OK with me bringing a friend for the first night even though I booked it only for myself. When I stayed there she was always very friendly and helpful. Furthermore, I can only agree with one of the earlier comments as a woman travelling alone I felt safe all the time which is important for me. The city centre is only a 10 minutes walking distance and the bus stop is only 5 minutes to walk to, where the bus going to the beach and national park Manuel Antonio runs frequently. All in all, I can absolutely recommend you going there! Inken Hass from Baden-Württemberg, Germany.

We had the pleasure of regularly seeing toucans.

Date of review: December 4, 2014

Hi Grettel, Thanks for the amazing stay at Brunxu! What an ideal location. The unique building (Casa Blanca), in the quiet neighborhood, is sheltered by old-growth trees that serve as a home to Costa Rica’s unique wildlife. We are a married couple who stayed in the efficiency apartment for several weeks. From our balcony we had the pleasure of regularly seeing toucans, an array of songbirds and everyone else in the little homey building saw scarlet macaws several times. Troops of monkeys routinely passed through, both capuchin and titi, and provided unrivaled “monkey watching” as they moved through the trees around the house and even on the roof. We saw a massive iguana on the porch and even spotted a tapir down in the forest below the house.

The footprint of the apartment is cozy but efficiently set up. We cooked often, watched football on the television and HBO. There were several stores and restaurants nearby in town. The bus stop is close for a ten minute ride to the beach. The apartment was immaculately clean. Grettel lives on site, is very attentive, and a good person. The house feels very secure. There are a couple of apartments in the building and everyone is friendly, but there is privacy, too. The rooftop terrace is a great place to relax, open air in the tree tops. It is a bit of a gem being positioned right on the edge of Quepos. We definitely recommend it and would go back. Best, Emily Jo and Josh, USA.

Clean, safe, cosy, … Ideal.

Date of review: May 22, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at brunxu during the months of February and March 2014. Being a single traveler I opted for their studio apartment.

For me this was almost perfect. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom/shower roomy, clean and perfectly functional.

The location is ideal as it is nestled in between Manuel Antonio and Quepos. With Quepos (and all shops, restaurants, etc) a 1 min walk and Manuel Antonio a 5 min bus ride.

The house is also wedged on the mountainside providing a beautiful view from the roomy balcony and also the occasional furry visitor (monkey)

Both Carlos and Grettel are lovely people and landlords.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this place. Nik, Sydney, Australia.

Wonderful place to stay.

Date of review: May 15, 2014

I have lived at Brunxu for almost a year now and it has been a great experience. Grettel and Carlos are such wonderful people and so accommodating, always wanting to make sure that everything is okay in the apartment. Their children are so sweet and well behaved – you wouldn’t even know there are children living on the property!

The apartment has everything I need to live comfortably. And the surrounding environment is total perfection. Almost every day, I see amazing wildlife passing through the trees. There’s also a beautiful view of the ocean and picture perfect sunsets that can be seen either from my patio or the rooftop terrace.

The location is ideal, set away from the main road so you only hear the natural world but so close to town. It’s super easy to walk to the local markets, marina and restaurants. It’s also easy to catch a taxi or bus if you want to go to the beach. Christine, California.

I personally guarantee that your stay there will be ideal and memorable.

Date of review: November 5, 2013

I would like to give my highest recommendation for a long-term apartment in the beautiful beach area of Quepos, Costa Rica, to the Brunxu Apartments. I spent six wonderful months there just a bit up the hill toward the magnificent Manuel Antonio section of beaches, restaurants, and activities. The owners, Grettel and Carlos, are highly educated, friendly people, who provide a clean and furnished apartment in their four apartment complex located right on the edge of the rain forest. They live in the apartments and that makes it a very safe place to stay and leave your valuables to spend a day at the beach, zip lining, or riding a catamaran sail boat. At the same time my privacy was respected and any issue was immediately fixed.

Quepos is a great small town to explore restaurants, shops, and the beautiful beach. It has a medical clinic, grocery stores, and a great feel for what a Costa Rican fishing village is like. Quepos is the ideal spot in Costa Rica for fishermen. I could walk to Quepos in less than five minutes from my apartment. I spent many hours on the porch of the apartment with a picturesque view of the ocean and received almost daily visits from the monkeys. At night I was serenaded by the enchanting sounds of the rainforest. I felt like I was camping out because the apartments are off the main road in a serene and secure area.

I and my wife now own a home in the Central Midlands, but we plan to visit Quepos often to enjoy all the things it has to offer. I will always make a point to stop by and see Grettel and Carlos. I personally guarantee that your stay there will be ideal and memorable. Dave Unland from USA.

Wonderful stay and we are pleased to give you a review.

Date of review: August 16, 2013

Our stay with Grettel and Carlos was nothing short of wonderful. They were extremely accommodating and offered a perfectly relaxing, quiet and peaceful place to stay. We were fortunate enough to see the monkeys twice in our week there. The apartment is located on the edge of town and is less than a five minute walk to anywhere in town which made for quiet and tranquil evenings. Exactly what we were looking for. Thank you so much for a great week and we would gladly stay at Brunxu apartments again. Rob and Emma from Canada.

I loved your place.

Date of review: April 24, 2013

Thanks Grettel. I loved your place: it could not have worked out better. It was the first time that I stayed in Quepos as opposed to in Manuel Antonio. You place was just as convenient and much more reasonable. And very quiet. And good neighbours. John F.

One of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

Date of review: February 12, 2013

I just recently finished my vacation in Quepos, Costa Rica. I have to say that it was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. I had a wonderful apartment with an incredible view, and Grettel was a terrific landlord. Five Stars are not enough to describe this wonderful apartment. I would recommend staying with them any time! Marcus German, Scuba Kansas, LLC – Wichita, KS.

I was really living in the jungle.

Date of review: February 8, 2013

I stayed in one of the Brunxu apartments for seven months and I think that I would have struggled to find anything better in the Quepos area. With the Coro family living on site I felt totally safe and at home, which was important for me as I was living alone. The apartments are situated within walking distance of town and just a short bus ride away from Manuel Antonio. I felt like I was really living in the jungle, being surrounded by Costa Rica’s beautiful wildlife, yet also that I was in a well maintained, clean building. I would definitely recommend Brunxu to anybody looking to stay in this area, it was an excellent find! – Joules Mason, United Kindom.

Titi and white face monkeys would visit our patio almost daily.

Date of review: March 28, 2012

My wife Rebecca and I have been traveling to Costa Rica for the past twelve years. We stayed at the Best Resorts to the Best Western type hotels, until a friend told me about his find. A small family owned unit of four apartments on the edge of the Rain Forest. High enough on the side of the hill to have an Ocean View. Ti-ti and white face monkeys would visit our patio almost daily. We found that for the same amount spent on Hotels we could live in our own little paradise with a yearly lease. We always felt safe because the owners lived in the same building. Please feel free to contact us at U.S.A. 001 717 581 0630 or email us at Siamese at blueeyedsix.com for a personal recommendation.

Grettel and Carlos were perfect hosts available- but not intrusive.

Date of review: August 18, 2011

The Brunxu apartments snuggle the edge of the jungle, where there are frequent visits from monkeys. I found myself surrounded by fascinating exotic flora, birds and the frog & cricket choruses after the rain – but – it is just a short walk to the gym, bakeries, mini-super markets. Dos Pinos Ice Cream, Pizza, the soccer field, the church, three banks, loads of restaurants and good places to drink coffee. The stop for the frequent buses to Playa Manuel Antonio is just 200 meters away.

Secluded but convenient to everything. The apartment itself is bright, sunny, nicely furnished including a complete kitchen and an open floor plan. It was really easy to keep clean. The free access to WiFi was a great plus – made it easy to make daily Skype phone calls to my 91-year-old Dad in the USA.

Grettel and Carlos were perfect hosts – available- but not intrusive – AND – there is a great view of the bay from the balcony – a great place to have breakfast or an afternoon coffee – or- to peacefully watch the spectacular sunsets. I highly recommend a month or more here – Richard from NY, NY, USA.

The studio apartment was clean, modern, furnished with all necessities for daily living.

Date of review: August 02, 2011

Brunxu apartment was the perfect match for my husband & me to stay while in Quepos, Costa Rica. We lucked out when we found it online. Grettel & Carlos made it easy to reserve with a deposit via Western Union. We were nervous about this at first, but soon arrived to find they are a wonderful and trustworthy family. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and experience the culture of Costa Rica during our 3 month stay.

The building is the last house on the street located just outside of main town before the big hill to Manuel Antonio park/beach. It is approximately a 10 minute walk to town and a 5 minute walk to the closest bus stop to the beach. There is a staircase up a hill to reach the building and another up if you are on the second floor.

The studio apartment was clean, modern, furnished with all necessities for daily living. The balcony included a table and chairs with a view of the town, jungle, ocean, and neighbor yards/gardens. The balcony & roof was ideal for spotting loads of animals including a variety of birds (hummingbirds, tanagers, motmot, vulture, parrots & more!), monkeys (capuchin white face & titi), sloth, and squirrels. The roof is flat with rails which are perfect for drying laundry & wet beach towels. There is a wash machine available for use, which was SOOOO handy! They let us use the grill when we wanted. Although the apartment did not have air conditioning, we were accustomed to the weather and the frequent breeze kept the air moving. There is a ceiling fan inside to help as well.

As you would expect, there are bugs in Costa Rica. We experienced ants & spiders in the apartment. They were not a problem as long as we made sure the screens stayed closed & all food was sealed & cleaned up. The ceiling leaked once after we had a few days of bad storms. Carlos and friends were fast to examine the roof and ceiling to fix the problem, which we did not have again.

We loved every moment of our stay at Brunxu Apartments and will never forget the warm hospitality received. Many fond memories and photos will help us to remember these good times. If you plan to visit Quepos and would like the privacy of your own apartment, the warmth and safety of staying with family, and the beautiful nature of the Pacific coast of Costa Rica; then we would highly recommend you stay here. Sincerely, Michal & Stephanie.

We can recommend these apartments to anyone

Date of review: May 16, 2011

We have very much enjoyed the stay with you during our one week stay in Quepos while we were attending a Spanish class at El Paraiso language school! The 2 BR apartment gave us ample space and made our stay very comfortable. Gipsy always “checked us out” on our improvement of our Spanish knowledge 😉 Unfortunately the cute dog disappeared during a heavy thunderstorm and did not return while we were there. We hope he will return eventually. The location of Brunxu apartment close to the city of Quepos but yet almost within the rain forest is an absolute asset of this place. We can recommend these affordable apartments to anyone who is spending his time in Quepos. Hope to have the opportunity to stay with you again! Lots of greetings from Ilse & Bernhard (from Austria).

Cheap apartments to rent

Date of review: Apr 26, 2011

Dear Grettel, Carlos, Gipsy and Dogy 🙂 We enjoyed to stay in your lovely apartment with nice bathroom and a good kitchen, we enjoyed also the great and beautiful nature all around your house! We see so many interesting animals like monkeys, birds, bats etc… We we’re also happy to have a nice neighborhood like Steve he was a good help and give us a lot of information useable about Quepos and Costa Rica! After 1 beautiful week with you we go to the caribbean side of Costa Rica. We will missing you! Caroline, Cosimo and Giulia (Switzerland).

Rooftop deck provides great views the jungle, stars, sunset, downtown Quepos, and the Pacific ocean.

Date of review: Mar 22, 2011

I really enjoyed my 2 month stay at Brunxu Apartments and will gladly stay there again next time I visit Quepos! Carlos, Grettel, and little Gypsy are super friendly neighbors and extremely capable and helpful landlords. Upon my arrival, Carlos assisted me with my luggage I was greeted by 20-30 white face monkeys (the monkeys returned several times a week)! The apartment/building is clean and well maintained and the rooftop deck provides great views the jungle, stars, sunset, downtown Quepos, and the Pacific ocean. Grettel was a great resource for information about Quepos/Manuel Antonio and always willing to help. Brunxu is located on the eastern outskirts of Quepos on the way to Manuel Antonio and backs to the jungle providing a sense of privacy and security. Located a few hundred meters from the bus stop to Manuel Antonio and 6 blocks from the Quepos Marina, I found the location to be ideal. The inside of the apartment was immaculate and attractive. I really enjoyed the tile work and high-end showerhead in the large bathroom. I had absolutely no complaints during my 2-month stay. I am a big fan of Brunxu Apartments and would highly recommend considering Brunxu for your housing needs when you visit Quepos. Thank you Carlos, Grettel, and Gypsy!!!!! COLLIN (USA).

We enjoyed the apartment very much and highly recommend it for a tranquil and safe place in Quepos.

Date of review: Mar 21, 2011

Our quiet 2 bedroom, bath, kitchen and small living /dining room at the Brunxu Apartments was just right for our 3 week stay in Quepos, with plenty of privacy. One of the best holiday places we’ve stayed. The location was ideal and the view from our balcony looked out to town and the beach front just a few blocks away. The bus stop to Manuel Antonio is within a short walking distance and just 15-20 minutes bus ride to the National Park and the beautiful beaches. The cappuchin and mono titi monkeys visited us in the mornings and afternoons as well as beautiful birds all day. We enjoyed our friendship with the lovely owners, Gretel, Carlos and their adorable 6 year-old daughter Gypsy who are managing their first small complex with great pride and care and reside on location. The place was very clean with all the furnishings like home; even a clothes washer for the tenants and WIFI. Though it wasn’t air-conditioned we found the ceiling fans in all the rooms were all we needed to live comfortably. We enjoyed this affordable apartment very much and highly recommend it for a tranquil and safe place in Quepos. Gracias por todo. YOLANDA Y TONY, (Austin, Texas, USA).

I want to thank you for a great stay at Brunxu.

Date of review: Mar 5, 2011

It was exactly what I had hoped for and expected. My month there was the best vacation I have had in years. I really hope to come back next time for at least two months or longer. I send my best to you, your husband, daughter, Steve and Doki! WAYNE.

“Apartment on edge of rainforest – view of ocean”

Date of review: Feb 8, 2011

Arrived November 1st in a torrent of rain and was greeted by Gretel with her big smile and other tenant who helped us carry our luggage to our apartment. Spending 88 days gave us the opportunity to feel the life at Brunxu. We rented the lower 2 bdrm. apartment, hung our hammock on the balcony to enjoy the breeze and view. We had WIFI and Cable T.V. Nestled into the surrounding mountain, the buildings rooftop gave opportunity to birdwatch, sunbath, and hang laundry and offers a wonderful view overlooking the town to the sea. Mono blanco’s, Titi’s and Howlers provided us with weekly entertainment. This young growing Tico family is charming and very helpful. Their daughter, Gipsy (6) always ready to engage in a game with you. We enjoyed the community of Quepos and look forward to returning. JEAN AND DAVID.

“Walk to town; back yard is rain forest, front balcony views Pacific. Ocean sounds put me to sleep at night.”

Date of review: Jan 23, 2011

This two year old, well constructed apartment building is in a great location (next to Manuel Antonio Estates) – safe neighborhood, ocean view, surf sounds at night, monkeys and birds abound – great roof deck for cook outs, cocktails and sunbathing. It is owned and operated by a young Costa Rican (Tico) couple, Carlos and Grettel and their 6 year old daughter Gipsy. I have been their tenant for 8 months over 2 years and, if possible, intend to retire here in a few years. The 2 holiday ‘studio’ apartments or cabinas are perfect for a single traveler. The 2 bedroom units with room for 4 are a little fancier with living room furniture, microwaves, electric stoves and larger kitchen spaces. All have cabled televisions, ceiling fans, internet wi-fi and washing machine access. I am from Cape Cod and Boston. A/C is not needed in this location – the gentle ocean breezes keep life comfortable. Brunxu.com for more info & photos – Buena suerte, STEVE (Esteban).

The owners of the apartments Brunxu would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to all our guests and friends for the positive reviews. God bless them all!

Last minute offers holiday Rentals

Pay less by renting directly from property owners!